Chianti Star Festival 2014

From 13th June to 20th July 2014, art and science blend together in the location of the beautiful hills of Chianti, in the heart of Tuscany, for the second edition of the Chianti Star Festival which will host international artists, researchers and scientists.



The inauguration will be held on Friday 13th June at 6.30pm at the Palazzo Malaspina di San Donato in Poggio with a music performance by the Benko Brothers to inaugurate the exhibition opening of a group of international artists who will be showing their latest work including painting, sculpture, photography or digital art.

Saturday 14th June at 5.30pm: the jury chaired by Roberto Casalbuoni, will award three prizes to the award-winning artists during the prize ceremony at the Auditorium of the Cantina Antinori in the Chianti Classico area of Bargino, designed by Marco Casamonti.

Dedicated to the relationship between art and science, the rich programme of events includes exhibitions, installations and performances, and thanks to the collaboration with OpenLab, part of the communications body of the University of Florence, numerous meetings with scientists and researchers who are involved in promoting scientific culture. Some examples of these talks: On Monday 16th June at 9.30pm Professor Luigi Dei will present a performance/lecture “From Schubert to De André: the mysteries of the voice in music”; Tuesday 17th June at 9.30pm Professor Giuseppe Conti will discuss “the secret geometry of Florentine monuments”; Thursday 19th June at 8.30pm, Professor Giovanni Mattii will present “Grapevines throughout history: from the dawn of the cultivation to the modern age” followed by a Lecture “Tango: The partner dance from a medical-scientific viewpoint” by Maria Grazia Giovannini (in English and Italian) at 10pm, together with a tango session with Giorgio Jr Giorgi and Daniela Conte from the dance company ‘LiberandoTango Nuevo’; the architect Massimo Ricci will reveal the secrets of Brunelleschi's Dome on Saturday 21st June at 9.30pm.

The Festival, in addition to being hosted in the prestigious Palazzo Malaspina, will also involve other nearby areas of the Chianti, including the Chianti Observatory; the Fattoria Montecchio that, thanks to its artistic kilns, will present works by artists who have mastered working in terracotta, including Agneta Gynning and Eugenio Riotto; to the Abbey of Badia a Passignano, which in addition to hosting concerts including one with pianist Bruno Canino, will also exhibit an installation by Giovanna Lysy that will be inaugurated Sunday 15th June at 4pm.

Gabriele Rizza, Gianna Bandini and Alessandra Sarri from the Anèmic Association will be presenting a video and photographic competition divided into three sections: 1) Art and Science 2) the Tuscan Landscape and 3) Vine and wine.
The “Stars” of the Festival, in addition to the stars that can be observed from the Chianti Observatory, will also be local gastronomical products starting, of course, with olive oil and wine.

The Jury is composed of
Roberto Casalbuoni, theoretical physicist
Anchise Tempestini, art historian
Satoru Yamada, art critic and journalist
Giada Rodani, contemporary art exhibition curator
Alberto Righini, professor of Astronomy
Gabriele Rizza, journalist, expert of cinema and theatre
Luigi Dei, professor of Chemistry, President of OpenLab
Massimo Ricci, architect, Member of the Central Forum UNESCO
David Baroncelli, Mayor of Tavarnelle Val di Pesa

Participating artists:

William Braemer http://williambraemer.com/
Catherine Daubresse https://catherinedaubresse.wordpress.com/
Emmanuel De Brito
Anna Maria Giraudo
Agneta Gynning www.agnetagynning.com
David Harry http://davidharryfineart.com/
Evelyne Huet www.evelynehuet.com
Sumio Inoue www.sumioinoue.com
Alexander Lee http://alexanderlee.artspan.com/
Charlotte Lisboa www.charlottelisboafineart.com
Giovanna Lysy www.giovannalysy.com
Sara Palleria www.sarapalleria.com
Santina Panetta www.santinasemadarpanetta.com
Edward Rilke www.edwardrilke.com
Eugenio Riotto www.eugenioriotto.com
Kensuke Shimizu http://www4.ocn.ne.jp/~kensuke/sub1.html
Linda K. & Theodore M. Shinkle www.shinklefineart.com
Savannah Tate Cuff
Tiril www.artbytiril.com
Max Werner www.maxwernerart.com


CHIANTI STAR FESTIVAL
San Donato in Poggio and other locations from 13th June to 20th July
Palazzo Malaspina, Via del Giglio 31, San Donato in Poggio (Fi) 50028

Vernissage: Friday 13th June, 6.30pm
Palazzo Malaspina, Via del Giglio 31, San Donato in Poggio (Fi) 50028

Opening times: every day  10.00-12.30 | 4pm-11.30pm (except from 13th July- 18th July: 6.30pm – 11.30pm)
Free entrance to all events except the concert with pianist Bruno Canino (€15) and some events at the Chianti Observatory.
Please see the full and updated programme at: www.chiantistarfestival.org   

It is advised to book the conferences and lectures
For bookings, information on the exhibition and collateral events, please contact
Studio Abba +39 055292082 info@studioabba.com
For information on the Chianti Observatory please contact: +39 3397554145 info@osservatoriodelchianti.it

For information on the local area please contact: Pro Loco di San Donato: 0558072338 - info@sandonatoinpoggio.it
Tavarnelle Chianti da Vivere: info@tavarnellechiantidavivere.it
Press Office: Studio Ester Di Leo T. +39 055223907 mail: esterdileo@gmail.com